Freshman year: Completed

4:36PM, 05.13.17

My freshman year of college officially ended. I can finally say I’ve made it, hopefully with good grades. To me, freshman year was…average. Definitely not what I had in mind when I was packing my bags last August. I did not make many friends as I hoped I would. I did not go to frats parties and get drunk like I thought I would. I did not have as much fun as I thought I would. There was nothing special about freshman year. I’m not really sure if that is a bad thing. Maybe it is, but do I really mind?

Looking back at this year, it makes me wonder, did I spend too much time in my dorm room? Should I have gone to all the events that I favorited but never showed up? Should I have joined at least just one student group? Should I have talked to my floor mates, to those I shared short conversations with but slowly faded away? I could go on and on.

This year has taught me a lot though. Things like how to survive the whole day without breakfast and lunch to getting to class in 15 minutes. Along with that, I’ve also learned to be independent. I’ve learned to live by myself, to lived without my mom’s food, to do my own laundry, and to share a bathroom with 30 other girls. Most importantly, I learned how to deal with hundreds of spiders outside my window with no help. I think I can say I’ve grown up quite a bit.

I guess we all learn something good out of something…average. 

Here is the timeline and some highlights throughout my freshman year:

August

August 28th: Moving in day. Seems like a life-time ago. I remember looking out the window for the first time and couldn’t believe this was my view.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

August 29th-30th: MCAE Kick-off. The best way to start off my freshman year. Forever thankful I was a part of this event. Go Group-P.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

September

September 1st: First college football game. and probably the last. Exciting but dull.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Yes, those are skydivers. Not birds.

September 17th: “Official” date with Thai. Baby came to visit for the first time. We went to Chipotle for our first alone date.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

September 29th: Bubble tea after dance practice. Out of everything, I think what I regret the most about freshman year was leaving the dance group. It was so fun for the 3 weeks that I was in the group.

VSCO Cam-1-7.jpg

October

October 1st: Farmer’s Market. Even though it was for a class assignment, but going to this market with a friend was quite enjoyable.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

October 4th: Meeting Bernie Sanders. No doubts one of my proudest accomplishments of all time. And the highest likes I’ve ever gotten on Instagram

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

October 8th: Princess. Received the best gift from the best boy. The box was put into my Victoria’s Secret bag, and at first, I thought they gave me a free box or something.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

October 14th: Clay. Made some cute clay figures, which I think are worth mentioning. Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

October 24th: Library. Working at the library was nothing like I imagined. I thought I would enjoy being alone and putting books into shelves for four hours straight, but as it turned out, I didn’t.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
October 26th: Meal. Dinner of a broke college student.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

October 28th: Campus. I guess UMN is pretty.

 November

November 4th: Getaway weekend. Visiting Thai for his early birthday.

IMG_1024.JPG

November 10th: Be a part of history. This day was one of the greatest thing I’ve ever done; protesting for what I truly believe in and what is right. I felt as if I was actually making a difference in the world today.

IMG_1169.JPG

November 29: Thanksgiving break = well spent.

December: whole month with Thai.

January

January 9th: Wisdom teeth. Getting all four of my wisdom teeth out 2 days before my birthday. Didn’t know how much I love solid food until now.

VSCO Cam-1-16.jpg

January 11th: A special day. I turned 19. Yay. Being an adult = no yay. Not being able to eat = no yay either. Thankful for Thai and my best friends who made this day so much better. I love them.

Processed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset

February

February 4th: Surreal. I won a TV at a New Year’s event? What even? Still can’t believe it somehow.

February 10th: Another weekend getaway. Thai coming to visit for our anniversary and early Valentine.

February 16th: Meeting Chutzpa. The cutest dog at PAWS, no doubts. Extremely fluffy and adorable.

VSCO Cam-1-20.jpg

March

March 4th: A day at MOA. It was nice to get out of my dorm room once in a while.

VSCO Cam-1-21.jpg

March 9th: Spring Break. With Thai. 11 days in paradise.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

April 

April 16th: Home. Going home for the weekend and spending couple of hours with my best friends.

VSCO Cam-1-23.jpg

April 22nd: Another getaway. First party with Thai and the first time I’ve seen him plays soccer.

FullSizeRender.jpg

April 27th: Daizy’s birthday. Spending dinner with my two best friends on Daizy’s birthday.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

May

May 3rd: Last day of work. It was a very bittersweet moment; half of me was glad that I can finally take naps after classes, the other half was sad that I won’t be able to see the kids again.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

May 4th: Finals. Most stressful day of the entire year. Can’t believed I survived it.

May 5th-12th: Maycation. Whole week with Thai before moving back home. Perfect way to end the semester.

 Today. 05.25.17 9:02PM

After pushing off this blog for over a week. I can officially say freshman year is over.

Leave a Reply

